Akhil Datta-Gupta

DR. AKHIL DATTA-GUPTA is Professor and holder of the LeSuer endowed chair in Petroleum Engineering at Texas A&M University in College Station, Texas. He worked for BP Exploration/Research and the Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory. He is the recipient of the 2009 John Franklin Carll Award of the Society of Petroleum Engineers for distinguished contribution in the application of engineering principles to petroleum development and recovery. Prior to that, he received the 2003 Lester C. Uren Award of the Society of Petroleum Engineers (SPE) for significant technical contributions in petroleum reservoir characterization and streamline-based flow simulation. Dr. Datta-Gupta is a SPE Distinguished Member (2001), Distinguished Lecturer (1999-2000), Distinguished Author (2000), and was selected as an outstanding Technical Editor (1996). He also received the SPE Cedric K. Ferguson Certificate twice (2000 and 2006) and the AIME Rossitter W. Raymond Award (1992). He is co-author of the SPE textbook Streamline Simulation: Theory and Practice.' He received a Ph.D. degree from the University of Texas at Austin.